Skip to content

Your Turn

May 20, 2009

Thanks to the reader who made sure I know about a particular article ( http://www.lifenews.com/state4156.html ) from LifeNews.com. (I”ll put that article in a post that is separate from this one.)

Thanks, also, to another reader who not only told me about a bill (and the rumor-like story being connected to it), but who also checked out the truth of the related story BEFORE sending the information to me. That saved me having to investigate the story. I won’t identify the bill or the rumor, but did want to be sure to mention this as another example of how you — the readers — can be collaborators with me in this effort to inform, educate, and motivate people to take seriously our Christian duty to participate in the political life of our country, especially to defend the innocent life of the unborn, and to preserve the sanctity of traditional marriage and family life.

Lately I haven’t been able to even skim the headlines of the daily email versions of LifeNews.com and LifeSiteNews.com, or the home page of CatholicExchange.com, so if anyone else thinks there’s a story I should be aware of, please don’t hesitate to bring it to my attention. I may not be able to respond soon, or at all, but it does help to know you care enough to participate in sharing the information! I’m in an especially busy time right now, so please pardon gaps in coverage. I wish I could keep up better, but other priorities are rising in importance.

This post is titled as “Your Turn” since I’m having to turn things over to you, as if loosening the training wheels of a bike for someone to get adjusted to riding the bike without the training wheels. Hopefully by now I’ve guided you through plenty of examples of how to find information and take action on it, so please don’t let yourself be too dependent upon having me provide you with up-to-the-moment leads on what is happening. Use the USCCB and government Web sites, sign up to receive news/action alerts directly from the sources that you find reliable, and keep your eyes and ears open so that your hands and voices can act when needed. (And if you would like to help with any of the projects that I do, please let me know. I really need to be turning some things concretely over to other people.)

Thank you again to all who have expressed appreciation and encouragement since launching this blog (nearly) two months ago, as well as prior to that with the email notifications I’ve been sending since September 20, 2007. I’ve enjoyed this volunteer work, learned much, and met many people whom I might not otherwise have had a chance to know. Please continue to pray (and work!) for our country to develop a true “Culture of Life” that wins out over the other influences that make people blind and deaf to the will of God.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

